Kenyan Pundit Hacked

Kenya Pundit is down and is attempting to set up a new blog. Ory Okolloh believes her site has been hacked as she is unable to post comments or moderate the site. She has done some very admirable work keeping everyone up to date with what is happening on the ground. Is this the beginning of a government crackdown on the internet?


Africabeat
has more information and posted this message from Ory:

As some of you might know I’ve been pretty much the only source of credible information about the election situation in Kenya over the last fews, and more especially since a media blackout was imposed by the government (no live broadcasts, no news, nothing!) – the country is on fire and we have no idea what the government is doing to clamp protests down and how many people have been killed. After the blackout, blogs and sms’s have been pretty much the only source of information for Kenyans both in Kenya and outside Kenya. Late night I asked my readers to send me whatever information /news they have in the comment section so that we could keep the news flowing. When I woke up this morning to moderate comments and write a post I was unable to do any admin on Kenyan Pundit (see attached screenshot and note the swiftkenya details even though I’m hosted in the states).

I never thought I would ever witness this in Kenya and be the subject of censorship – in fact every time I spoke about blogging in Kenya I was proud of the fact that the government has stayed away from bloggers. Now I have been shut down (well they think they can shut me down).

Kenya is now officially under a police state and I’m not sure how much coverage this is getting internationally, and I’m not sure how long it will last.

Please spread the word internationally and take up our cause as Kenyan bloggers and citizens – I refuse to be cowered by fear and intimidation.

Hopefully internet and mobile access won’t be next.

In shock,

Ory Okolloh

UPDATE: Kenyan Pundit is back up and running. It was a traffic issue and not because the site had been hacked.

3 Responses to “Kenyan Pundit Hacked”


  1. 1 nekessa January 1, 2008 at 2:47 am

    I believe Ory found that the government was after all not censoring her blog.

    It is a sad day in Kenya, when Kibaki who had increased freedom of the press (after Moi) allows his government to censor the media. It is unbelievable the things that went on at KICC the day he was announced and sworn in as president!!!

    Calling him is one of the saddest things… because everyone is terrified… and our leaders are failing us (nothing new here, but this is an all time high!!)

  2. 2 athenaeum January 1, 2008 at 4:57 am

    I do wonder whether the taking down of Kenyan Pundit was the act of a malicious hacker or something more sinister. Lets wait and find out.

    I share your incredulity over the way the results were announced at KICC.

    BAD leadership which they thought everyone would overlook. This is a DEMOCRACY NOW!

  3. 3 Benin Mwangi January 2, 2008 at 6:05 pm

    We are glad that Kenyan Pundit is back up. I concur that it was traffic related as so many sites went down and one was even a government owned media site.


Leave a Reply

